Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Brownfields Grants: State and Tribal Response Program Grants

Grants to USA States and Tribes
for Brownfield Cleanup Response Programs

Agency Type:


Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Office of Brownfields and Land Revitalization (OBLR)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA states and tribes for brownfield cleanup programs. Funding is intended for tribal or state-level response programs that address the redevelopment, assessment, and cleanup of brownfield or contaminated sites. Programs must be timely, have oversight mechanisms, include public participation, and have approval and verification mechanisms to ensure the work is done.

This funding is intended for states and tribes that have the required management and administrative capacity within their government to administer a federal grant. The primary goal of this funding is to ensure that state and tribal response programs include, or are taking reasonable steps to include, certain elements of an environmental response program and that the program establishes and maintains a public record of sites addressed.

Section 128(a) recipients that do not have a VRP MOA with EPA must demonstrate that their response program includes, or is taking reasonable steps to include, the four elements described below. Achievement of the four elements should be viewed as a priority. Section 128(a) of CERCLA authorizes funding for activities necessary to establish and enhance the four elements and to establish and maintain the public record requirement.

The four elements of a response program are described below:

  1. Timely survey and inventory of brownfield sites in state or tribal land.
  2. Oversight and enforcement authorities or other mechanisms and resources.
  3. Mechanisms and resources to provide meaningful opportunities for public participation.
  4. Mechanisms for approval of cleanup plans and verification and certification that cleanup is complete.

Eligible uses of funding:

Small Technical Assistance Grants

Section 128(a)(1)(B)(ii)(III) of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability
Act (CERCLA), as amended, authorizes a noncompetitive $1.5 million grant program to assist small
communities, Indian tribes, rural areas, or disadvantaged areas to carryout section CERCLA 104(k)(7) (by
providing training, research, and technical assistance to individuals and organizations, as appropriate, to
facilitate the inventory of brownfields sites, site assessments, remediation of brownfield sites, community
involvement, or site preparation). These funds must be used to assist a community that meets the statutory
definition of disadvantaged area or small community to facilitate the reuse of brownfield sites.

For further information:

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 187170

Estimated Total Program Funding:


Estimated Size of Grant:

EPA will consider funding requests up to a maximum of $1.0 million per state or tribe for FY2020.

The maximum amount of funding allowed for Small Technical Assistance Grants is $20,000.

Term of Contract:

EPA regional offices will determine the project period for each cooperative agreement. These may be for multiple years depending on the regional office’s cooperative agreement policies.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for funding under CERCLA section 128(a), a state or tribe must:
1. Demonstrate that its response program includes, or is taking reasonable steps to include, the four elements of a response program described in Section IV of the guidance; or be a party to a voluntary response program Memorandum of Agreement (VRP MOA) with EPA;
2. Maintain and make available to the public a record of sites at which response actions have been completed in the previous year and are planned to be addressed in the upcoming year (see CERCLA section 128(b)(1)(C)).

EPA will accept only one application from each eligible state or tribe.

Entities Not Eligible to Receive Brownfield Grants:
- For-profit organizations and individual entities are not eligible to receive Brownfield Grants.
- Nonprofit organizations subject to section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code that lobby are not eligible to receive grants from the Brownfields Program.

Pre-Application Information:

Requests for funding will be accepted from October 1, 2019 – December 6, 2019. Requests that EPA receives after December 6, 2019 will not be considered for FY2020 funding.

First time requestors are strongly encouraged to contact their Regional EPA Brownfields contacts prior to submitting their funding request.

States and tribes requesting funds are required to provide a Dun and Bradstreet Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) number with their cooperative agreement’s final package.

States and tribes are not required to provide matching funds for cooperative agreements awarded under section 128(a), with the exception of section 128(a) funds a state or tribe uses to capitalize a Brownfields Revolving Loan Fund (RLF), for which there is a 20% cost share requirement.

Please Note: Recipients should only submit their final work plan via The draft work plan due on December 6, 2019 should not be submitted via The draft work plan should be emailed to the regional contact. Also, when the EPA project officer informs you when to submit your final work plan in, it must be submitted using the “Workspace” feature.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Please use the form below to send us comments or questions:

Regional State and Tribal Brownfields Contacts:

Office of Brownfields and Land Revitalization
Mail Code 5105 T
1200 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20460

CFDA Number:


Funding or Pin Number:


URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming